About Energy Performance Certificates:

An Energy Performance Certificate (EPC) is required for every commercial building when it is constructed, sold or let. This certificate gives information about the energy efficiency of the building to owners, prospective buyers and tenants.

An Energy Performance Certificate (EPC) sets out the energy efficiency grade of a commercial building. Energy Performance Certificates (EPCs) are required when a commercial building over 50mis built, sold or rented. Buildings less than 50m2 could require an EPC but depends on several rules and its relationship with other commercial buildings. Please enquire if the building falls into the small category.


There are two grades of buildings under the EPC requirements which relate to the complexity of the building being assessed and will affect the type of EPC assessor you will need.



Commercial EPC Pricing: Fees for EPCs are based on the number of discreet Activities that are being carried out on the premises. Activites can be referred to as "the purpose to which an Area is being used". Examples of an Area are a Reception, Office, Kitchen, Toilets, Workshop, Storeroom, and Corridors. In some cases its possible to combine Areas of the same type where all other characteristics (such as heating and  lighting) are the same.


Each of these Areas will have different Heating, Cooling and Ventilation requirements. The Assessor will divide the Business premises into Areas so that the assessment takes account of the different Heating, Cooling and Ventilation requirements.


Areas often equate to the number of rooms used for specific activities or can be an open space within a building.


Further Building complexity is taken into account as stated by the notes below:


A Simple Building: is one having “frequently occurring characteristics" such as simple heating systems, simple natural ventilation and small comfort cooling systems” -- those which are very similar to domestic premises in the fabric and services present, such as a block of shops with flats above them. These buildings are commonly going to be assessed by a Level 3 assessors using SBEM but they can also be assessed by a Level 4 assessor using SBEM or even a Level 5 assessor using DSM.


SBEM and DSM refers to the standard government software used to produce EPCs.


A Complex Building: is one having advanced features which can be calculated using SBEM or DSM by a Level 4 or 5 assessor respectively. A Level 4 assessor using SBEM is expected to have experience of buildings in the commercial sector, which may have both fabric and services installations that are not found in domestic buildings, ie. any HVAC systems. A Level 5 assessor using DSM is expected to have experience of buildings in the commercial sector, which may have both fabric and services installations that are uncommon for which the asset rating is best measured using dynamic simulation.


Standard Assumptions:


EPCs are produced using standard methods and assumptions about energy use to enable the energy efficiency of buildings of the same type to be compared. They are valid for ten years but must be renewed if modifications to the property are made.


What an Energy Performance Certificate (EPC) contains:


The EPC has two parts - a graphic rating and a recommendations report.


The rating is calculated on the performance of the building and its building services (such as heating, lighting, air conditioning), rather than the appliances within it. This is known as an asset rating - that is, how energy efficient the building has been designed and modified.

A building's rating will vary depending on the age, location, size and condition of the building, which are taken into account.


The Recommendations report provides a list of improvements that can be made that will increase the efficiency of the building. This report is split into 3 sections: Short, Medium and Long Payback period. In addition each recommendation is provides an indication of it Potential Impact on CO2 emissions.



The Commercial assessor  will collect the following information during a visit to business premises:


The information collected will be used for data entry into government approved software which will carry out calculations. The mathimatically determined Rating is then included in the EPC.


The following information is collected:


1. Built form which refers to information gained by viewing the building externally for its Walls, Floors and Roofs.


2. Number of storeys.


3. Date built.


4. Property dimensions including average floor to ceiling heights.


5. Wall construction (External and Internal) and any areas that are of an alternative construction.


6. Roof construction.


7. Insulation installed in Walls, Floors and Roofs.


8. Openings (windows and doors) and their age.


9. Percentage double glazed.


10. Heating/cooling system – type and fuel used.


11. Heating/cooling (manufacturer, model and ID number)


12. Heating controls – room stats, programmer, etc.


13. Presence of secondary heating/cooling systems – i.e., more than one system for heating and cooling.


14. Building Ventilation type: Natural (windows) or Mechanical (Fan driven Supply/Extract units).


15. Water heating system and if applicable capacity and insulation for hot water cylinder.


16. Building energy sources and Electricity & Gas meter.


17. Installed Solar Panels or other Low Carbon technologies.


18. Type of lighting systems and their controls.